You’ve Been in a Car Crash, Now What?

With California’s more than 30 million registered vehicles, it’s no surprise that the number of police-reported accidents here is sky high too.

Which means that the odds are fairly high you will eventually be in a vehicle crash. And whether it’s a minor fender bender or a serious accident with major injuries, it helps tremendously to know what exactly to do in the aftermath of a vehicle crash.

According to the California Department of Insurance, there are some important steps a motorist should take following an accident:

  • Injury check. The first, and most important thing to do is check for injuries ­ – for all parties involved – and move to a safe area. Call 911 if there are injuries.
  • Contact the Police. Depending on the severity of the accident, call the police. Most insurance policies require notification within a specified time period if the accident is a hit and run.
  • Gather information. Obtain names, addresses, telephone numbers and driver’s license numbers from all drivers.   Get license plate(s) and vehicle identification numbers.  Ask to see driver’s license(s) and vehicle registration(s) to verify the information is accurate. Ideally snap photos of all.
  • Take photos. Also take photographs of the damage, and the accident scene (traffic controls, visual obstacles).
  • Document the crash. In addition to taking photos of damage to both cars, write a brief overview of what happened, including time and location, while memories are still fresh.
  • Leave a note. If the owner of a damaged car or damaged property cannot be located, leave a note with the names and addresses of the drivers and owners of the involved cars.
  • Notify your insurance agent immediately. How the insurance claims process proceeds after a car accident hinges on who was at fault and the types of coverage you and the other driver have.
  • Contact the DMV. If anyone is killed, injured or the vehicle damage exceeds $750.00, you must report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days. Failure to notify the DMV may result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
  • Roadside Assistance. Call a tow truck if needed.
  • If you have been injured, stay calm. Even if you have not been injured, it’s important to see a doctor, as you may have suffered an injury of which you are unaware.  
  • Get legal help. Always remember it’s important to contact an experienced car accident attorney a soon as possible.
  • Be prepared. Have a place in your car for registration, proof of insurance, contact information and the key things to remember after an accident.

Contact Queen Yasmine Injury Law

If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a car accident, it is important to hire an experienced personal injury attorney.

At Queen Yasmine Personal Injury, we are here to help you navigate the justice system when you are due compensation from an unfortunate event or accident.  Our legal professionals will carefully review your case, and determine the best next steps for you.

We will fight to hold those responsible accountable for medical expenses, pain and suffering and much more – and are unrelenting in seeking the justice you deserve.  You won’t face any legal fees unless you win your case, so call our firm today or contact us online to schedule your free consultation.

You might also enjoy

Meet The Queen

Get Your Free Consultation

When you need the best San Diego Personal Injury Attorney, contact Queen Yasmine.